Amba PSP
1,500MW
Not disclosedtrees to be felled
112.56ha of forest land
2villages named
- MoU signed
- Study terms (ToR)
- Environment clearance
- Forest clearance
- Construction
- Operating
| Forest (ha) | 112.56 Documented“159.65 ha Non-Forest Land (A) 112.56 ha”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page182 · 30 April 2026 |
|---|---|
| Total land (ha) | 272.21 Documented“Pumped Storage Project (1500 MW) in an area of 272.21 Ha located at Sub District Mawal and”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page29 · 30 April 2026 |
| Capacity (MW) | 1,500 Reported“The proposals include pumped storage projects by NTPC Limited, Greenko BR01 IREP Private Limited, and THDC India Limited, along with the Niare Hydroelectric Project in Arunachal Pradesh. 1,500 MW Amba Pumped Storage Project, Maharashtra”Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026 |
| Storage (GWh) | 8.93 (estimate) ReportedDerived on this siteStorage implied by us from capacity × rated hours or annual generation; see the project note.Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026 |
| Cost (₹ crore) | 7,294.88 Documented“x. Project Cost: The estimated project cost is 7294.88 Crores at Feb 2026 price level. The”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page30 · 30 April 2026 |
| Location | 18.7031°N, 73.4084°E (exact)Documented“v. The geographical co-ordinate of the project are 18°42'11"N, 73°24'30.22"E (Left Bank) &”EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3), page29 · 30 April 2026 |
| District | Pune, Raigad, Mawal, Sudhagad |
| Villages | Gevhande Apati, Bheliv |
| MoU signed | 3 September 2024 |
Sources disagree
Capacity (MW)
- 800 Reported Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe
- 1,500 Reported Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna
800 MW was the 3 Sep 2024 MoU figure; the 29 Apr 2026 addendum and the ToR are for 1,500 MW.
Notes
- Expert Appraisal Committee (EAC) The central committee of experts that recommends ToR and EC for river valley and hydro projects, including PSPs. More in glossary → recommended Terms of Reference (ToR) The list of studies an EIA must cover, set by the expert committee. Getting a ToR is the first clearance step, not a permission to build. More in glossary → at its 53rd meeting (29–30 Apr 2026) for 1,500 MW on 272.21 ha.
- All project components are in the proposed Western Ghats Ecologically Sensitive Area (ESA) About 56,825 sq km of the Western Ghats proposed for protection since 2014; still only a draft, reissued six times. More in glossary → (reported).
- The EAC asked for a Cumulative impact assessment A study of the combined effect of all projects in one river basin or landscape, rather than one project at a time. More in glossary → of nearby projects and told NTPC to revise its Memorandum of understanding (MoU) A non-binding agreement between the state and a developer to study and build a project at a site, with a water allocation. More in glossary → from 800 to 1,500 MW, which the 29 Apr 2026 addendum did.
- Forest area not reported; needs the ToR minutes.
- Primary record (EAC 53rd minutes, item 53.3, proposal IA/MH/RIV/575297/2026): 272.21 ha = 112.56 ha forest + 159.65 ha non-forest; upper reservoir submergence 35.99 ha, all forest.
- Peaking 5 h 57 min a day, so storage is about 8.9 MW, MWh and GWh MW is how fast power flows; MWh (or GWh = 1,000 MWh) is how much energy is stored or delivered. More in glossary → (our estimate: 1,500 MW × 5.95 h).
- Upper dam 101 m high on a seasonal nala draining to Pawana lake; lower dam on the Sayali nala (Amba basin).
- ToR letter 22 May 2026.
- An EAC sub-committee visited 18–20 Jun 2026, before the monsoon, and called the site 'appropriate', citing sparse dry-deciduous vegetation and cactus; the EAC accepted the report on 15 Jul 2026.
- The upper reservoir is about 1.5 km from the upper reservoir of Avaada's Pawana Falyan project.
Timeline
-
EAC accepts dry-season EAC site visit An inspection by EAC members. Since Sep 2024 the EAC wants one for every Western Ghats PSP before EC. More in glossary → to Amba and Malshej Ghat
Details and documents
A sub-committee visited THDC's Malshej Ghat and NTPC's Amba sites on 18–22 Jun 2026, before the monsoon. It reported sparse vegetation and said Amba's reservoirs 'will enhance moisture content'; both reports note a seasonal biodiversity survey is still needed.
-
EAC recommends ToR for Amba and Aruna Pumped storage project (PSP) Two reservoirs at different heights: water is pumped up when power is cheap and released through turbines when power is needed. More in glossary →
Details and documents
53rd meeting (29–30 Apr). Amba (1,500 MWReported“The proposals include pumped storage projects by NTPC Limited, Greenko BR01 IREP Private Limited, and THDC India Limited, along with the Niare Hydroelectric Project in Arunachal Pradesh. 1,500 MW Amba Pumped Storage Project, Maharashtra”Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026, 272.21 haReported“…Storage Project in Pune and Raigad districts of Maharashtra. The project will comprise six units of 250 MW each and will require 272.21 hectares of land. The scheme includes an upper reservoir linked to the Pawana River basin and a lower reservoir connected to the…”Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026) lies wholly in the proposed Ghats ESA; Aruna's upper reservoir is reported to be inside the Gaganbawada Conservation Reserve.
-
NTPC MoU addendum raises Amba to 1,500 MW and Kumbhe to 1,100 MW
Details and documents
Signed in the CM's presence; the EAC had asked NTPC to revise the Amba MoU at the same week's ToR meeting.Reported“Following detailed technical studies, feasibility assessments, and topographical evaluations, the project parameters have now been revised: Amba PSP: Increased from 800 MW to 1,500 MW”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026Reported“Amba PSP: Increased from 800 MW to 1,500 MW Kumbhe PSP: Increased from 1,000 MW to 1,100 MW”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026
-
NTPC signs MoU for Amba and Kumbhe PSPs
Details and documents
1,800 MWReported“Following detailed technical studies, feasibility assessments, and topographical evaluations, the project parameters have now been revised: Amba PSP: Increased from 800 MW to 1,500 MW”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026Reported“The original MoU, signed on September 3, 2024, proposed the development of two pumped storage projects—Amba and Kumbhe—with a combined capacity of 1,800 MW.”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026 in all: Amba 800 MW and Kumbhe 1,000 MWReported“Amba PSP: Increased from 800 MW to 1,500 MW Kumbhe PSP: Increased from 1,000 MW to 1,100 MW”Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026, both in the Pune–Raigad Ghats.
Sources
- Power Peak Digest: EAC 53rd meeting, ToR for Amba and Aruna · 8 May 2026
- Indian Masterminds: NTPC and Maharashtra sign MoU addendum for Amba and Kumbhe · 29 April 2026
- EAC 53rd meeting minutes, 29–30 Apr 2026 (Amba ToR, item 53.3) · 30 April 2026
- EAC 58th meeting minutes, 15 Jul 2026 (item 58.6, site-visit reports) · 15 July 2026